You think she's an open book, but you don't know which page to turn to, do you?

I Saw YELLOWCARD!
August 23, 2003 - 12:23 a.m.

I was planning on saving this entry till I got my pictures developed and scanned, but I got them developed today, and stupid Target not only made me wait two and half hours for one hour photo, but also fucked up my pictures so that there's half of one picture, a big fat line, and half of another picture on each actual picture for most of the Yellowcard ones. That was the longest run on sentence that ever run on sentenced. Anypoo, I guess the pictures will hafta wait till I go to Target and raise some hell, y'know, show those bastards who's boss and shit. Until then, I will tell you that I got the best picture of Sean playing the violin ever. It is sooo good. I'm submitting it to their website when I get the damn thing centered correctly.

Holly and I got there before the doors opened. In fact, we got there waaay before the doors opened, but being the dumbasses that we are, we toured the block three times before we saw the completely obviously located parking garage. We were in a long line, though, and by the time we actually got in the club it was already very crowded. We lingered near the back because we didn't care to get close for the first few bands, but soon realized that getting close then was necessary if we wanted to be close for Yellowcard. We were mostly in the back for the first band, Don't Look Down. As a result, my pictures mainly consist of Jennifer's boyfriend's head. The poor band had their van and all their equipment stolen in Seattle two days before they got here, so everyone was plugging the ep they were selling (the only thing they had left to sell). I thought they played well, so I bought the ep after the show. Holly and I slowly made our way to the front during their set, and got even closer during the next band, Over It.

Over It was also very good. Their band members looked really young, and were all very good looking. The lead singer kinda reminded me of Jason Mraz. By the end of their set there was one person between me and the stage. Holly managed to push herself into the middle of the crowd where people were moshing and shoving, but I was like no thanks and stayed where I was safely on the outside :o)

Next was Autopilot Off. A lot of the people around me were there to see them and knew all the lyrics to their songs. Personally, I thought they were the worst of the bands. The lead singer didn't have much of a voice, and I just plain wasn't impressed. Holly and I discussed it afterwards, and she concurred. Near the end of their set, Holly came over to me and said she was about to faint. I thought she was kidding, but apparently she wasn't. She went and sat down on the side, and some girls helped her get water. I guess she got really dehydrated, and being pushed so much by the crowd got to her. Unfortunately she missed seeing (but not hearing of course) most of Yellowcard :o(

Going into the Yellowcard set, I had taken about five pictures of each of the opening bands, and since I had a camera with 39 pictures on it, I had 18 left when Yellowcard started. I used all of the pictures within the first three songs without even thinking about it. It was crazy. I got a decent amount of good pictures, though, for using the hold-the-camera-over-the-head-of-the-tall-guy-in-front-of-me-and-shoot approach.

As far as the performance is concerned, it was amazing. They had so much energy and rocked so hard. I think they did the best job during Only One and Believe. The emotional factor may have contributed to Believe a bit cuz Ryan talked about how he wrote it to recognize all the heroes instead of making a political statement about September 11th and how they first played it in New York and got a great response from the crowd. It was all great though.. just an overall wonderful show. For those who are curious, I'll copy the set list from my livejournal (as I mentioned there, I might have some of the order wrong or left out a song, but I think it's mostly right):

Rough Draft
For Pete's Sake
Big Apple Heartbreak
Finish Line
Way Away
Breathing
Ocean Avenue
Sureshot
Only One
Starstruck
Believe
Encores:
Cigarette
Avondale
October Nights

After the show I bought a Yellowcard t-shirt with a violin on it and a Yellowcard hoodie with lyrics from View from Heaven, one of my favorites from the new cd, on it. The hoodie's a little big on me, but I figure it'll shrink. Plus it's comfy and Yellowcard, so I don't care. Also, all of the guys in the band are about ten times hotter than they are in their pictures in person. YUM. Just.. yum. Also, I don't think I've ever sweat so much in my life. I soaked my entire shirt with sweat and changed into my new shirt when I got in the car. Also, I have a nice little small world story for anyone who lives in Newark, so IM me if this pertains to you. I think I told most everyone who will care already though.

In other news, I bought a teevee for the dorm today. Let's hope my roommate doesn't already have one. Oh well if she does; now we have two.

That's all I can think of that I wanted to say, but I may think of something else. Wish me luck raising hell at Target tomorrow. I don't like getting bitchy with people I don't know when they can actually hear me (bitching people out in my car is a totally different story.. Jenny feels me on this one). Ta! ~BOB

Back To ~ The Future

0 previous comments. (This doesn't work anymore; go sign my guestbook)

Essentials
Recent
Archives
Profile
Diaryland

Extras
Guestbook
Notes
Rings
Wishlist
Livejournal
Cast
BOB 101


Plot Thyself

Feeling: Moody!

Pro-Choice

All entries, images, and layout � 2000-2004, BOB :o)
Lyrics taken from the song Open Book, by Cake.