You think she's an open book, but you don't know which page to turn to, do you?

My Trip
April 20, 2001 - 8:46 p.m.

Oh boy, it's 4-20! Not that I've ever smoked anything in my life, I just think it's a funny concept. Plus, it brings back memories. Last year at this time I had a big ol' migraine headache which caused me to spew in the gutter in downtown Santa Cruz. Then, after I recovered, Jenny, Monica, and I went bowling with a buncha druken college students (my sister and friends). It was a fun day. Oy, the memories. I can't believe it was a year ago.

So, I bet you're all just on the edge of your seats waiting to find out what happened on my exciting lil road trip (all.. uh... two or so of my dedicated readers). I'll try to use as much detail as I can while not typing a book. Wish me luck, it might not be the easist task.

We started off Monday morning towards Sacramento. We arrived at Sac State with time to spare, but we just sat around and watched others arrive. The tour was good, and purdy informative. The dorms were crap, but most are. The campus was rather nice, and we had a cool tour guide. After the tour we went to the hotel we had reservations at. However, the dude at the front desk told us we couldn't have a quiet room because of construction, so my mom called the 1-800 number for Best Western and we got another hotel in Sacramento. It was a nice hotel. We ate at the Hard Rock Cafe for dinner. Yum. There were a couple people signing and I could actually understand what they were saying! That's the first time that's happened at a restaurant. I was thrilled.

The next morning we left for our big drive to Ashland. My mom drove from Sacramento to Redding, and I drove from Redding (where we ate at Chevy's) to Ashland. This was a big mistake cuz the part I drove consisted of plenty of curves which caused my mom to wig. "BRAKE, LAURA, BRAKE!!!" (That was for a turn where you had to go 50 around the corner.. talk about scary.)

We arrived at Ashland where we were staying at my sister's friend's mother's house (we've never met her). There were some other people on the property who helped us out when we couldn't hook up the TV and were too scared to kill a wasp (pathetic, I know). They had a farm complete with chickens and goats. I didn't realize Ashland was so out in the middle of nowhere. The next day it started pooring rain, so we had to take our tour in the rain. That was fun. The tour guide was a freshman dude. He said it was his first tour by himself, and he was all nervous. It was cute. He kept saying stuff was "pretty sweet". The expression has worn off on me. It was a nice campus, nice people, nice dorms. I just don't like the weather there and the fact that it's in the middle of nowhere. There's drawbacks to every goddamn college!

Yes, Jerry, I went to Lithia Park. No, I did not drink the water.

There were some yummy restaurants in downtown Ashland. We ate at three of them in the two days we were there. The morning we left the town we went to a store called Rare Earth (which the tour guide said was "pretty sweet"). It was... pretty sweet. I bought a shirt that says "PEZ Grape Candy" and two buttons. One says, "Tact is for people who aren't witty enough to be sarcastic" and the other says "I've got nothing against God, it's his fan club I can't stand." Haha, those are so me. There was also one I liked that said, "I found Jesus, he was behind the sofa the whole time." BAHAHAHAHAHA! I didn't buy it though. I bought the tact one instead cuz I can actually put that one on my backpack. I'm afraid to put the anti-religious ones on my backpack cuz people at my school are... Stupid. Religious. Judgemental. Pricks.

Next we headed to Dunnigan, which was a no-name town on the way to Sonoma so we could take a break from driving for a night. We got a big ol' suite cuz it was cheap there (in the middle of nowhere). It was nice except for the annoying shower that whistled at you.

This morning we went to Sonoma. It wasn't fun. The rain had followed us from Ashland, and we were caught in a big ol' storm. Plus, we got lost on our way to the school. We finally found it, after much stressing and arguing. Needless to say, my mother and I were sick of each other after five days on the road. Sonoma wasn't my cup of tea. Everyone was trendy.. yucko. The dorms were nice, but that was about it. I didn't enjoy myself. We got home as soon as possible, and then I caught up on diaries (read for about two hours).

Yup, so that was my vacation. Exciting, I know. I still have no idea where I wanna go to college. None of the colleges jumped out and bit me, and I don't wanna just settle, so I have a feeling my search has only just begun. If Southern Oregon was closer and not in the middle of nowhere, I would totally go for it, but it's just not convenient. The whole college thing is totally stressing me out, and I still have another year till I hafta decide. I cried a lot in the car on the way back from Sonoma cuz my mom gave me a hard time about not liking the campus. She apologized though, and we're on good terms. I think we just need some time away from each other now. Five days is a bit too much as far as togetherness goes.

I didn't do any hw the whole time, besides catch a couple videos on MTV and at the Hard Rock Cafe for my sexism in music report. I'm gonna have a boring weekend, except tomorrow Jenny and I are gonna see Freddy Got Fingered hopefully.

Well, I suppose I'm done for now. My fingers aren't used to all this typing. Ta! ~BOB

Back To ~ The Future

0 previous comments. (This doesn't work anymore; go sign my guestbook)

Essentials
Recent
Archives
Profile
Diaryland

Extras
Guestbook
Notes
Rings
Wishlist
Livejournal
Cast
BOB 101


Plot Thyself

Feeling: Moody!

Pro-Choice

All entries, images, and layout � 2000-2004, BOB :o)
Lyrics taken from the song Open Book, by Cake.