You think she's an open book, but you don't know which page to turn to, do you?

I Saw SAVES THE DAY!
October 18, 2003 - 2:38 p.m.

I went to see Saves the Day last night. It was amazing. Wait, no, we were amazing. That's what Chris Conley kept saying.

Parking was a bit difficult.. we ended up finding a tiny valet parking garage that charged $2 for every half hour. Parking in downtown San Francisco = shitty. They ended up charging me $16 even though my car was only there for four hours. bastards.

Anypoo, the walk to the warfield was lined with all kinds of scary bums that lurk around the city at night. When we were waiting to cross the street, a guy was like, "what butt am I gonna hit tonight?" and slapped the ass of the girl next to Holly. Then he was leaning on me as we were crossing the street, and he said, "Nah, you're too young!" and walked away. I was rejected by a crazy man! I think it was cuz I had my hair in pigtails. This is my new strategy to keep my hair off my sweaty neck at shows.

There was a long-ass line, and we couldn't tell if it was for will call or people who had tickets, so we started walking toward the theatre to ask someone when I heard someone yell, "Laura!" I turned around and my mind had to play the where-do-I-know-this-person-from game for a couple seconds before I recognized Chris who lived in my hall last year. That was crazy experience seeing someone I know number one. We also saw someone arrested while we were waiting in line and had about a billion and a half bums ask us for money.

When we got in we soon realized that by having floor tickets we were extremely lucky. Probably about 75% of the people were in the balcony. The floor area was tiny. There were some steps that went up, and some people were leaning against the railing there, but we went down on to the floor right in front of the stage and leaned against the the front of the railing. That way we were close but we could still avoid the moshpit.

Moneen was alright. Some of the things the lead singer said were purdy funny. They played a couple songs I recognized from the mp3's I downloaded.

Next was Taking Back Sunday. I've been listening to them a lot lately and was excited to see them play, but I was rather disappointed. Unless you knew what was going on in the songs very well, it was hard to follow and just sounded like noise. The lead singer didn't sing very loud and mainly just swung the mic a lot. There were a lot of huge Taking Back Sunday fans near us who were going nuts. A guy next to me was obviously there for Saves the Day and kept making sarcastic comments throughout Taking Back Sunday's set that amused me muchly. There were these two blonde girls in miniskirts and platform flip flops who were bouncing with the music like idiots that he made fun of very accurately, and I enjoyed that. After Taking Back Sunday finished playing, it became quite obvious that they were drunk by how they were stumbling over each other. It was entertaining to watch anyway.

There was a guy sitting kinda near us (we sat between sets) who looked like Jason Mraz. I think he caught Holly and me each staring at him at least twice each. Haha. He was very cute when he smiled. It made me wanna see Jason Mraz live about ten times more. Grrr.. someone go with me November 8th!

I also noticed a girl in the crowd who I think was in my self defense class at Monterey last year. I gave her a ride home from class once. That was crazy experience seeing someone I know number two.

A lot of the Taking Back Sunday fans had left after their set, so we were able to get closer for Saves the Day. That was when I started going nuts. Chris was sooo adorable.. he had his glasses on and he did the thing where he bounces while he plays that he does in the video for Anywhere With You. I just wanted to pinch his cheeks. I sang along and danced to every song, and I was just in heaven. It was so good. This is where I will clumsily try to list every song they played, but not in order cuz I think I would fail miserably if I did that (instead I'm doing alphabetical order because I'm looking at a site that has all Saves the Day songs listed that way):

All I'm Losing is Me
All-Star Me
Anywhere with You
As Your Ghost Takes Flight
At Your Funeral
Cars and Calories
Certain Tragedy
Driving in the Dark
Firefly
Freakish
In Reverie
Jessie and My Whetstone (electric.. I just about peed my pants with excitement)
My Sweet Fracture
Nightingale
Rocks Tonic Juice Magic
See You
This is Not an Exit
Ups and Downs
What Went Wrong

Oh yes, it was wonderful.

When we went to get my car afterwards, the people behind us in line included a guy Jenny had a crush on last year at Monterey. That was crazy experience seeing someone I know number three.

It was a great night. Saves the Day was everything I thought they'd be. I think Chris saw me singing along a couple times too! Or maybe that's just what I would hope :o) That's all for now. Ta! ~BOB

Back To ~ The Future

0 previous comments. (This doesn't work anymore; go sign my guestbook)

Essentials
Recent
Archives
Profile
Diaryland

Extras
Guestbook
Notes
Rings
Wishlist
Livejournal
Cast
BOB 101


Plot Thyself

Feeling: Moody!

Pro-Choice

All entries, images, and layout � 2000-2004, BOB :o)
Lyrics taken from the song Open Book, by Cake.