You think she's an open book, but you don't know which page to turn to, do you?

Annoying Parents
February 22, 2002 - 6:50 p.m.

I know I just wrote an entry a few hours ago (you should read it!), but I'm really pissed right now, and need to vent.

Tonight I went out to eat with my parents and my mom made a stereotype about Jewish people. I was really offended by it, and I'm hardly Jewish. She was like, "well I'm a quarter Jewish, so I can say that kinda stuff." I don't think she has the right.. she doesn't practice the religion. She doesn't know what it's like. I know there are plenty of racist people out there, but I expected more out of my own mother. Then when I told her it was wrong, she was like, "well you're right, I'm not perfect. I'm a horrible person." She's so infantile. Was she trying to make me feel bad for pointing out something she said that was morally wrong? I mean, I think it was important to bring that to her attention. She seriously sees nothing wrong with it, and when she said she was sorry it was in an I'm-saying-this-because-I-have-to way. She's not sorry. She said she wouldn't say it in front of someone who was Jewish because they might be offended, yet she still thinks that it's not offensive?

My parents have been getting on my nerves so much lately. I can't wait to go to college. Last night, the figure skating ended at 11:30 and then I got ready for bed. My mom came out at midnight when I was just finished and yelled at me for not being in bed yet. Hello.. I'm almost 18 years old. I think I can handle going to bed by myself. If I don't get enough sleep, it's my problem, not hers. In the car on the way home tonight my dad was totally ruining a good Nirvana song by flatly singing along and making his little spitty sound that he thinks sounds like drums. Ugh. It's gotten to the point where the smallest things about my parents bug me. I don't understand how people I know go to college and still live with their parents and can stand it. I would go nuts. I love my parents, I think they're the coolest, but I need to GET THE HELL OUT. I can't wait to go to college and decide when I go to bed myself.

Ugh.

I'm done venting. Ta! ~BOB

Back To ~ The Future

0 previous comments. (This doesn't work anymore; go sign my guestbook)

Essentials
Recent
Archives
Profile
Diaryland

Extras
Guestbook
Notes
Rings
Wishlist
Livejournal
Cast
BOB 101


Plot Thyself

Feeling: Moody!

Pro-Choice

All entries, images, and layout � 2000-2004, BOB :o)
Lyrics taken from the song Open Book, by Cake.