You think she's an open book, but you don't know which page to turn to, do you?

This One Time I Wrote a Long Entry
March 23, 2004 - 9:07 a.m.

This one time I got up early for my 9am class just to walk halfway there and find out from Serena that it was cancelled. True story. Now I'm not tired anymore, so I can't go back to bed. Fun times. Instead, I've decided to write in here for the first time in nine days. Geez. So much has happened.

I'll start with Thursday. That night was the Something Corporate/Yellowcard concert. I went with my livejournal friend Tara. We got there an hour before doors opened because we wanted a good spot, and that's exactly what we got. We were right on the side of the huge baracade they have so security people can catch crowd surfers. The crowd was completely different from any Yellowcard show I've been to. They were dressed different, they were mostly teenaged girls, they were plentiful, and they were annoying as fuck. The first band was Steriogram. They sucked. They were from New Zealand, so they had cool accents, but their music, and especially their vocals, left much to be desired. The only good thing I have to say about this band was that one of the guitars said, "Friends don't let friends drink Starbucks," on it. Amen to that.

Something Corporate came on and played very very well. Much to my surprise, they found time for Konstantine. I sang along to every song except the Hey Ya cover. I don't understand why so many bands feel the need to cover such a shitty song.

Then Yellowcard came on. Actually, their back drops and props came on first. I don't understand what that was all about. Hey, we're on TRL, now we have backdrops! Ugh. There were these girls next to us I kinda talked to before the show who had stamps on their hands that said they were over 21. When Yellowcard came on they started screeching like twelve year olds. Note to them: act your age next time. Thanks. Yellowcard, of course, played a great set. They played four songs I hadn't seen live yet: Back Home, View From Heaven (not the same without the chick singing background vocals), Twentythree, and A.W.O.L. I think the latter may have taken Only One's place in my heart as my favorite Yellowcard live song. So good. After their encores we stuck around for a bit, and Ben handed me a pick. Yay! Finally.. this is the first time I've gotten a pick at a show. Plus, it has the Yellowcard symbol on it. Plus, it's slightly worn off so I know it was actually used. I, of course, left it on my desk at home like the dumbass that I am. Go Laura. Anypoo, I am quite possibly going to see these bands again in Chico a week from Thursday. Tickets are quite hard to come by, but Natalye's friend Tim might get me the hookup. Nice.

Moving right along... on Friday I made my way to Santa Rosa, Natalye's hometown. I spent the weekend there because one of my livejournal friends was staying near Santa Rosa and we were supposed to meet up. That never happened because she was like, I'm not gonna respond to Laura's text messages. (I didn't have her phone number; just the text messaging feature on livejournal.) The weekend was not wasted though. I got to meet more of Natalye's friends than I can count, and fun times were had. Her cats are adorable, and her parents are super nice. They cooked yummy meals and told me about a brand of cheese that doesn't have lactose in it. How much cooler can you get? They also served me asparagus for the first time, and it made my pee smell. That is something everyone should experience!

While I was in Santa Rosa, on Saturday, I said to Natalye, "You know what would be random? If I got my labret pierced today." So she called her friend Alexys who has a lot of piercings and asked about a good piercing place, and that's exactly what I did. Natalye took play-by-play pictures during the process. She has yet to upload them yet, but I'll probably post them when she does. It wasn't a very painful piercing process, but the healing period? Totally different story. You know how my lips are big to begin with? Well my bottom one is twice as big now. It's all swollen and gross and painful and ugh. Not fun. Most websites say the swelling only lasts for a couple days, so I hope it goes away soon. Once it heals completely I'll probably change it to a ring because I dig lip rings. Also, I'm not allowed to make out for two weeks. Not that the boys were pounding down the door in the first place, but I'm still a little bummed. It also doesn't help that today marks one year since my last kiss. Lame.

I forgot to mention that when I got home on Thursday my new mini ipod was waiting for me. It is blue and adorable. I named it Dory like the fish in Finding Nemo because they're both blue. I put something like 830 songs on it, and I take it to class with me every day now. It has this one feature called "music quiz" where it plays a few seconds of a song, and you have to choose from four choices which one it is. I rock at it. It helps that it uses my music, but yeah.

Oh yeah, here's the only picture I have of my piercing online so far. It was taken last night when I was visiting Natalye, Allison, and Brian while they were drinking wine:


That is what we call the evil eye. I was grumpy because of the swelling. You shoulda seen the picture she took originally that I made her delete.

Ok, me and my swollen lip are off to try to get some rest at least, if not sleep, before my class at noon. Ta! ~BOB

Music: The Ataris ~ Ben Lee

Back To ~ The Future

0 previous comments. (This doesn't work anymore; go sign my guestbook)

Essentials
Recent
Archives
Profile
Diaryland

Extras
Guestbook
Notes
Rings
Wishlist
Livejournal
Cast
BOB 101


Plot Thyself

Feeling: Moody!

Pro-Choice

All entries, images, and layout � 2000-2004, BOB :o)
Lyrics taken from the song Open Book, by Cake.