You think she's an open book, but you don't know which page to turn to, do you?

Long-Ass Hiatus Ended!
July 1, 2002 - 5:05 p.m.

Hallefuckinlujah, I can type! I must explain... my week long hiatus was neither intentional nor planned. It sucked. See, Wednesday was a very emotional night for me (that's a later story), and I didn't have time to write an entry. Then, Thursday I didn't feel like catching up, and I just wasn't in an entry writing mood. I was not aware of the unfortunate event that was to come. That night, while take pills in front of the puter, I gagged on a pill and spit water all over the keyboard. The keyboard was fine that night, but the following morning I woke up to find out (as those who read my other diary know) that my beloved spacebar was no longer working, amongst other somewhat useless keys that line the bottom of the keyboard. I, of course, being the online addict that I am, managed to IM people without a spacebar; I simply uses periods instead of spaces. But I couldn't write an entry with this method cuz no spaces would result in one long line which would fuck up my layout. We can't have that! Today my mom picked up a new keyboard at work, so now I have my spaces back, and it is so great. Actually, I'm surprised to say that at first it took some adjustment. I grew quite used to using periods instead of spaces. Weird how that happens, isn't it?

Well, so much has happened, but I'll start with what is fresh in my mind, which is Ash St. Today was the first day of my summer job, and I would be lying if I said I was looking forward to it last night. I spent the entire day yesterday reading depressing love stories and dreading the fact that today would mark one year since I've been kissed. Needless to say, I was depressed last night, and stressing over the Melisa situation, and just plain wanting to go to college as opposed to Ash St (more on that later too). Well, the Melisa worrying wasn't necessary. They switched her out of my group and Sara into it. I would have preferred not to work with Sara since I did last year, and she's not my favorite person in the world, but she's better than Melisa. I'm not complaining. We already know how to work with each other, and Nicole fits right into the system, so the three of us work really well together. As for the kids... well, they're not angels, but for now they generally do what they're told. We hardly had any non-participation problems today, which was really cool. I have one of the twins in my group (Cameron), and I have Monica in my group... she's currently the only kid I've had in my group three years in a row. And her dad made me hug him when I got my scholarship. I'd find a link for that entry, but I don't even know if I typed about it. Anyfuck, I also have the child of the deaf guy who lives across the street in my group. I'm kinda excited about that. I talked to him a little bit today, and I was surprised at how quickly the signs came back to me when I haven't had an ASL class in over a year. I also had a capri sun box in one of my hands, and he still understood me. Go Laura! I felt kinda bad though cuz his kid came after the lunch people left and I couldn't give him a lunch :o( I told him we'd save one for him tomorrow though.

Alright, so now let's travel back in time to Wednesday (this is gonna be a long entry). I was really nervous about meeting SeanStarr, more so than I have been for meeting other people I met online. My mom and dad were worried about my safety, and after my mom talked to me for a bit about making sure I don't get in car with him and blah blah blah it started getting to me. Purdy soon, Jenny and I were frantically trying to find proof that he was a real person, and not some psychopathic murderer. It didn't help that another guy I talk to online who goes to CSUMB didn't find his name under a student list that supposedly everyone's supposed to be on. Well, SeanStarr signed on really late and told me that his dad had been in a car accident and he had to drive down to San Diego, where he's from. I asked him about not being listed as a student, and he got offended and left. I understood right away how insensitive what I did appeared to be, so I wrote him a long apologetic email. I haven't talked to him since, and I know he's read the email. So he's either a serial killer or he hates me. Once again, the chance for a local relationship has slipped right through my fingers. Why does shit like this always happen to me?

Well, Jenny and I didn't want the absence of SeanStarr to ruin our plans, so we still went to Monterey on Thursday to check out the campus and the area. The aforementioned online friend gave us a tour. He was very helpful and funny.. we enjoyed the tour muchly. We also checked out where our dorms are, went to Bubba Gumps for lunch, and looked around the mall in Monterey. We found our way to the mall on our own using a map, and we were very proud of ourselves :o)

On Saturday, we went to Monterey again (this time with our moms) for the orientation. Jenny and I luckily were placed in the same group, and we spent our time trying to figure out who my roommate was. Jenny saw her name on a form when she was turning in one at the beginning of the orientation, so we knew she was in our group, but we never figured out who she was. It sucked. The orientation was cool overall though. I got to talk to a liberal studies lady about my major. I got to talk to the world languages guy about ASL. And I got to talk to the music guy about maybe joining choir. He asked me to sign a paper with my name, my choir section, and my email address. I wasn't planning on registering for classes that day, but the only way I could find out what kinda classes I needed to take was to do it then. An advisor guy who was also helping like 10 people at the same time told me what classes I should take. I was having problems fitting a couple classes into my schedule, so I saved them for when I got home. Well, when I got home I realized that my schedule sucked. I had all but one class on one day, and an 8am class. I also had two classes in a row from 6pm-10pm. I fooled around at the website for a couple hours, and now I have a cool schedule! I don't have any classes till 2pm every day (perfect for a non-morning person like myself), and I don't have any classes on Fridays. Three day weekends every week for Laura! Plus, my classes are purdy well spread out so I have an easy class and a hard class both days. This is why I'm so excited for college. I just wanna go now. I'm sick of Newark and all the people who remind me of high school. I'm ready for dorm life, dammit! But alas, I have a fun-filled summer at Ash St. to attend first. I think it should be somewhat enjoyable :o)

Well, I think I've successfully caught any readers up on my life. It has been quite an event-filled week, that's for sure. Perfect timing or a spacebar to fuck up. I'm sure you would have gotten a lot more detail on all of the happenings if I had a functioning spacebar at the time, but that's life. This concludes my extra long catch up entry. Ta! ~BOB

Back To ~ The Future

0 previous comments. (This doesn't work anymore; go sign my guestbook)

Essentials
Recent
Archives
Profile
Diaryland

Extras
Guestbook
Notes
Rings
Wishlist
Livejournal
Cast
BOB 101


Plot Thyself

Feeling: Moody!

Pro-Choice

All entries, images, and layout � 2000-2004, BOB :o)
Lyrics taken from the song Open Book, by Cake.