You think she's an open book, but you don't know which page to turn to, do you?

Newark Sucks
August 7, 2000 - 9:04:21 PM

Today I learned that I don't scream at the kids at work as much as I think I do. How did I learn that, you ask? Well, this may take a bit to explain. See, my car has a 12 cd changer (yes, yes, worship it now... but you could lend me some money in the process. I owe my parents $5000). I, of course, love this feature, but my mom doesn't love it quite as much. Basically, that's cuz my selection of 12 cd's is a tad different from the selection my mom would choose. Therefore, whenever my mom rides in my car, it's like, "turn that crap off!" Usually we compromise on channel 104.9 (this station that plays 80's music), but I get just plain sick of going from cd player to radio, so I remembered that I had my Alanis Morissette cd in my car and that my mom likes Alanis Morissette and suggested just listening to that cd. It worked, and we were both pleased, but the problem is... I can't listen to music I know the lyrics to without singing. Alanis Morissette screams a lot. I can reach every note she can, but I end up with a sore throat a couple hours later. Guess who has a sore throat now? Anyway, my point was that I must not scream at my kids at work much or my throat wouldn't be killing me right now.

I did another chapter of my history hw tonight. I've finished the entire assignment from one book, now I hafta move on to the other book: the longer assignment. Maybe the questions will be easier to find? I'm hoping... They probably won't be. I remember the teacher telling us to spell everything correctly when we were given the assignment. I've found about 3 spelling errors in the questions written by the teacher. Hypocrites suck.

The more I like Jeremy, the more I realize I can't be with him. We've grown a lot closer this weekend and it's great, but at the same time it sucks. I keep racking my brain for ideas on how we could ever meet each other and nothing is realistic until college. How do I always get stuck in these situations? It seems so easy... I only wanna meet him (well, that's not all, but meeting him seems like it should be easy), but it's soo hard to do. Jenny met him, why can't I?

I need to get outta this town. It's starting to bug the crap outta me. I wanna go somewhere where I can't just drive somewhere and not even think about where I need to turn cuz I know it so well. Living in the same house your entire life really tortures a person. Especially when it's such a crappy town as this one. I would never raise a family in Newark. I couldn't torture my children like that. I'd like to just go somewhere, anywhere in the one week I have between when work ends and school starts, but I don't think that's gonna happen. 1) No money, 2) No parental support. I really feel like I haven't enjoyed my summer to its fullest. Usually I go on one vacation or something (besides to Santa Cruz for a mere weekend), and I'm starting to think not doing that is really ruining me. I'm not gonna be ready for school when it starts without a get away before it, and that could ruin my gpa. I currently can't focus on a tiny lil history assignment. How am I gonna manage hw for 2 honors classes and an AP one, plus 3 more? I only have 3 weeks to figure that out. Summer isn't long enough.

I drove my car through the carwash today, then I drove around this horrid town to dry it off. I love the thrill of just driving and listening to music as loud as I want it. I really think I could handle a road trip to Idaho. Too bad my parents don't feel the same way.

Things my mom nagged me about today: 1) Staying online too long, 2) not doing enough hw, 3) Liking a guy in another state (Mom: "why can't you just find a guy in Newark for once?" Laura: "cuz they're all homie g funks and two skaters who are already taken."), 4) Not changing my contacts often enough, 5) Liking music she doesn't like. I love my mom.

"When I look around, I think this, this is good enough, and I try to laugh at whatever life brings cuz when I look down I just miss all the good stuff, and when I look up I just trip over things." ~Ani DiFranco. I try to base my opinion on life on that quote. Whenever things are bad, I try to think of it and cheer myself up. But when things are this shitty, I kinda find that difficult.

I've been slacking off on my non-swearing thing. I really wanna stop swearing for certain reasons, and then for other reasons I don't. Like when I'm trying to describe how pissed I am at somebody and I call them a "very mean person" instead of an asshole.. I kinda feel like a two year old. I think I've decided to just swear around people I can swear around and not swear around people I can't swear around. I know who appreciates it and who doesn't, and now I know I can restrain myself if need be.

Ok, this has become a rather long, pessimistic entry. I must sound like quite a case. What happens when the psychiatrist needs advice? I think she just waits till it passes over cuz I know it will. Someday I'll get outta Newark. Someday I'll meet Jeremy. Someday Ani DiFranco songs will describe my existance. Someday just isn't now. Till next time.. ~BOB

Back To ~ The Future

0 previous comments. (This doesn't work anymore; go sign my guestbook)

Essentials
Recent
Archives
Profile
Diaryland

Extras
Guestbook
Notes
Rings
Wishlist
Livejournal
Cast
BOB 101


Plot Thyself

Feeling: Moody!

Pro-Choice

All entries, images, and layout � 2000-2004, BOB :o)
Lyrics taken from the song Open Book, by Cake.