You think she's an open book, but you don't know which page to turn to, do you?

Thoughts on Teaching
October 13, 2003 - 3:15 p.m.

This is me in my mad attempt to write in here more.

Mondays kick my ass. I get used to staying up late and sleeping in on the weekend, and then I can't go to bed till at least 2 on Sunday nights. The result is one very tired Laura who has to go volunteer at the elementary school and suffer through two classes.

I was dozing during earth science so much today, and I have a group presentation in my grammar class in an hour and a half. Must stay awake. Oh yeah, I'm also the leader of the group.. ugh. I hate being appointed group leader.

The good part about getting up early on Mondays and Wednesdays is going to the elementary school. I love those kids. I've never wanted to work with 4-6 graders, but since there are only seven of them, and they're getting the attention they need, they're not difficult to handle at all. I've chosen a favorite, of course. Everyone says you shouldn't choose favorites, but it always happens inevitably anyway. He's a cute, very intuitive kid. He has problems concentrating, but he's smart enough to understand his lesson anyway. I guess he's in special ed for reading problems because he seems to know his math very well. He always makes random comments when I'm working with him, and I have to remind him to focus on his work. His random comments are entertaining, though, so I don't mind.

I'm already wondering how the hell I'm gonna be able to stop working with these kids come December. I've only worked with them for about 15 hours or so total, and I can't imagine not working with them. I'm obviously very ready to become a teacher. There's nothing about being in the classroom that I don't like. I got excited when the teacher asked me to sharpen pencils and cut out fake dollars with a paper cutter today. I got extremely excited when I got to write on transparencies for the aforementioned group presentation in grammar. I get the cheapest thrills from stuff that make me feel like I'm one step closer to being a teacher. I bet when I am teaching years from now I'll look back on this entry and roll my eyes at myself muttering how I'd rather die than print another transparency. Or not. Some things don't lose their fun over time, and dammit, transparencies are cool!

I think I'm gonna rest a tad before class now. Ta! ~BOB

Back To ~ The Future

0 previous comments. (This doesn't work anymore; go sign my guestbook)

Essentials
Recent
Archives
Profile
Diaryland

Extras
Guestbook
Notes
Rings
Wishlist
Livejournal
Cast
BOB 101


Plot Thyself

Feeling: Moody!

Pro-Choice

All entries, images, and layout � 2000-2004, BOB :o)
Lyrics taken from the song Open Book, by Cake.