You think she's an open book, but you don't know which page to turn to, do you?

I saw SOMETHING CORPORATE!
November 7, 2003 - 2:27 p.m.

My poor pitiful diaryland layout is totally fucked up right now. My supergold membership expired without any warning, and I'm waiting for a response from Andrew about the details of downgrading from supergold to gold. As a result, things are rather ugly around here. Please bear with me.

Speaking of Andrews, last night was the Something Corporate concert. It was wondeeeeeful. Just great. And now I will go over it in detail:

I wasn't very upset about going alone until I decided to leave two hours early, and was waiting outside alone while everyone else waiting outside had someone to talk to. I sat on the floor in line really bored for a good forty-five minutes. It wasn't much fun. They opened the doors at 6:15, and I immediately proceeded to the merch stands. The guy selling Mae merch wasn't there yet, but the Rx Bandits guy was friendly, so watching him was entertaining. The Mae guy finally showed up, so I bought a shirt and a button. Then I bought a button from the Rx Bandits guy, and he gave me two free stickers since I was one of the first to buy from him. I was like, "They're a good band." And he said, "They're a GREAT band!"

I found a spot as close to the stage as I could get without being in the middle (I didn't know if there would be moshing or not). There was one person between me and the stage, and I was faaaar left, but I still had a perfect view. Luckily that one person was rather short. The Format was first, and they were really good. It was their last night on the tour, so the other bands were playing jokes on them. I got a picture of Andrew from Soco taking part of the drumset away during a song. I also got a picture of members of Soco and Mae throwing vegetables at the Format. It was amusing.

Next was Mae. I was really excited to see them. They played really really well. They rocked a lot more live than they do on the cd, and it just sounded great. The lead singer's voice wasn't too strong, so you couldn't hear him at times, but I don't mind cuz I was singing along anyway.. hehe.

I just have to note that they played a Cake song between sets, which was incredibly cool.

Rx Bandits were up next, and I think the girls next to me weren't familiar with them because when they were setting up they were like, "Why do they need so many mics?" Because of the horns! Lucky us, we had the sax and trombone players right in front of us. The guy who plays sax likes to "dance" (If you can call it that) during every song, which basically involves wigging out and flailing his body about. He was fun to watch. I got some really good pictures of them. During their set, the lead singer stopped in the middle of a song to yell at people who were beating each other up in the crowd. He was like, "I'm singing a song about peace here. It's because of people like you that the world is the way it is right now. I didn't realize Something Corporate fans liked to beat each other up. I'd rather not play while you try to decide who has the bigger dick." Ah, it was great. Much screaming of encouragement ensued. That band has so much energy. I'm definitely gonna start listening to their music a lot more. As their merch guy would say, GREAT band!

Finally Soco came on, and the set list was taped right near where I was standing. I couldn't read it at the beginning of their set (I could later when I got pushed closer by the crowd), so I asked the girl next to me if Konstantine was on it, and she said it was :oD Unfortunately, the piano's back was faced to our side of the stage, so we couldn't see Andrew when he played songs that involved the piano. When he wasn't playing the piano, though, he walked around, and I got many good pictures of him during that. Andrew also yelled at people who were beating each other up. He said, "We're here to have a good time and be friends. If you don't wanna be friendly, then leave." Some guy from the crowd was like, "Pump it up!" And Andrew said, "Pump it up?? I'm here to do my thing. I don't have to pump anything up for you." It was great.

Since it was the Format's last night, they had a guy from their band sing background vocals during Wait and then play the drums for the rest of the set. When he was singing background vocals, he used the mic right in front of me. He looked really nervous, and it was just adorable, so I took a picture. He looked up at me and gave me this huge smile. It was too cute.

The last song they played was Hurricane, and when Andrew came over and leaned into the crowd, I touched his arm :o) Then at the end of the song, when they were leaving he walked by and started grabbing hands of the people in the crowd, and he grabbed mine. Don't worry, I'm not a teeny, so I've washed it numerous times since then.

I got my pictures developed today, and there are lots of good ones. Some of them are 90% ceiling and 10% band member's face though. I'm thinking of cutting some of them up and making a collage out of them since I got double prints, and I haven't gotten artsy fartsy in awhile.

My plans for the weekend consist of homework.. and that's about it. I don't have extreme amounts of homework or anything, I just don't have any plans. My roommate's gonna be gone most of the weekend, so that will be nice. I always enjoy having the dorm to myself, naturally. Maybe I'll start the collage this weekend.

That's all for now. Hopefully the next time I write it will be looking a little more normal around here. Ta! ~BOB

Back To ~ The Future

0 previous comments. (This doesn't work anymore; go sign my guestbook)

Essentials
Recent
Archives
Profile
Diaryland

Extras
Guestbook
Notes
Rings
Wishlist
Livejournal
Cast
BOB 101


Plot Thyself

Feeling: Moody!

Pro-Choice

All entries, images, and layout � 2000-2004, BOB :o)
Lyrics taken from the song Open Book, by Cake.